Mechanical- and plant engineering
Download as PDF
References

AR-Maintenance System

Research project uses „Augmented Reality“

Computer-based extension of the perception of reality: Research project “AR-Maintenance System” focuses on “Augmented Reality” |
Special challenges lie in 3D object recognition, indoor navigation, and data management.

Augmented reality smart glasses are designed to make the service of wind energy systems much easier.

The number of wind turbines is growing at a rapid pace, and so is the necessary effort to maintain the turbines. These service activities are very costly and time-intensive, and the elaborately trained professional staff is scarce. It is, therefore, necessary to make the work of these professionals as simple and effective as possible. That’s why AnyMotion GmbH in cooperation with the BIBA (Bremer Institut für Produktion und Logistik GmbH) and the company COMback from Oberreichenbach are developing the “AR-Maintenance System”. The joint research project of the development partners runs for two years and is funded by the Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy as part of the “Central Innovation Program for SMEs” (ZIM) program.

“AR” stands for “augmented reality” and denotes the computer-assisted expansion of the perception of reality. “Maintenance” stands for “Maintenance”. The project partners, therefore, develop an assistance system for service technicians, which expands reality by visually displaying information on the maintenance process and facilitating the documentation. In the near future, it will be a reality that a service technician in a wind turbine is navigated to the place where he has to carry out a maintenance or repair. There he gets precise instructions for his job through the glasses. What’s more, the smart glass captures their work and take over the numerous, annoying documentation duties. No more hand-sheets, pens, and forms.

Through a semi-transparent 3D smart glasses, their bearers perceive all real things as normal. In addition, the glasses can display helpful data and information. The glasses also registered what their wearer is looking at over an inbuilt camera. This is made possible by the latest technology and a highly complex, underlying software. It is initially planned that the system will only provide valuable services to WEA service technicians, but it is also possible to use the system in other areas in the future.

The challenges in the project are the indoor navigation (AnyMotion GmbH), the visualization, the recording and delivery of maintenance instructions and objects as well as the object recognition (BIBA) as well as the management of large amounts of data (COMback).

Visit the project page
https://ar-maintenance.de

…more Information can found here.

Services of AnyMotion:

  • Development assistance system for service technician
  • Software development
  • Indoor navigation and visualization
  • Computer-assisted augmentation of reality perception
  • Collecting and delivering of maintenance instructions
  • Object recognition
  • Management of large amounts of data

 

Was this helpful?:
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (2 votes, average: 3.00 out of 5)
Loading...

Maschinen- und Anlagenbau
Als PDF herunterladen
Referenzen

AR-Maintenance System

Forschungsprojekt setzt auf „Augmented Reality“

Computergestützte Erweiterung der Realitätswahrnehmung: Forschungsprojekt „AR-Maintenance System“ setzt auf „Augmented Reality“ | Besondere Herausforderungen liegen in 3D-Objekterkennung, Indoor-Navigation und Datenmanagement

Datenbrille soll den Service an Windenergieanlagen deutlich einfacher gestalten

Die Anzahl an Windenergieanlagen steigt rasant, und so wächst auch der Aufwand für die Instandhaltung. Diese Servicetätigkeiten sind sehr kosten- und zeitintensiv, und das aufwendig ausgebildete Fachpersonal ist knapp. Es gilt also, die Arbeit dieser Fachleute so einfach und effektiv wie eben möglich zu gestalten. Dabei hilft künftig das „AR-Maintenance-System“, dass von der AnyMotion GmbH in Zusammenarbeit mit dem BIBA (Bremer Institut für Produktion und Logistik GmbH) und der Firma COMback aus Oberreichenbach entwickelt wird. Das gemeinsame Forschungsprojekt der Entwicklungspartner läuft zwei Jahre und wird vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie im Rahmen des Programms “Zentrales Innovationsprogramm Mittelstand” (ZIM) gefördert.

„AR“ steht für „Augmented Reality“ und bezeichnet die computergestützte Erweiterung der Realitätswahrnehmung. „Maintenance“ steht für „Instandhaltung“. Die Projektpartner entwickeln also ein Assistenzsystem für Servicetechniker, das die Realität durch die visuelle Darstellung von Informationen zum Instandhaltungsprozess erweitert und die Dokumentation erleichtert. Schon in naher Zukunft wird es Realität sein, dass ein Servicetechniker in einer Windkraftanlage mit Hilfe einer Datenbrille zu der Stelle navigiert wird, wo er eine Wartung oder Reparatur zu erledigen hat. Dort erhält er, ebenfalls über die Brille, genaue Instruktionen für seinen Job. Mehr noch: Die Datenbrille erfasst seine Arbeit und übernimmt für ihn die zahlreichen, lästigen Dokumentationspflichten. Keine Handblätter, Zettel, Stifte und Formulare mehr.

Durch eine halbtransparente 3D-Datenbrille sehen deren Trägerinnen und Träger ganz normal alles Reale vor sich. Zudem liefert die Brille über den Objekten positioniert ergänzend eine hilfreiche Arbeitsansicht und unterstützende Daten. Darüber hinaus registriert die Brille per Kamera auch das, worauf ihr Träger seinen Blick richtet. Möglich wird das alles durch neueste Technik und eine höchst komplexe, dahinterliegende Software. Zunächst ist vorgesehen, dass das System nur den WEA-Servicetechnikern wertvolle Dienste leistet, denkbar ist aber auch zukünftig das System auf andere Bereiche anzuwenden.

Die Herausforderungen in dem Projekt bestehen in der Indoor-Navigation (AnyMotion GmbH), der Visualisierung, dem Erfassen und Liefern von Instandhaltungsanweisungen und -tätigkeiten sowie der Objekterkennung (BIBA) und zudem im Management der großen Datenmengen (COMback).

Services of AnyMotion:

  • Entwicklung eines Assistenzsystems für Servicetechniker
  • Programmierung Software
  • Indoor-Navigation und Visualisierung
  • computergestützte Erweiterung der Realitätswahrnehmung
  • Erfassen und Liefern von Instandhaltungsanweisungen und -tätigkeiten
  • Objekterkennung
  • Management von großen Datenmengen

Weiter Informationen auch unter: www.ar-maintenance.de

War diese Information hilfreich?:
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (2 votes, average: 3,00 out of 5)
Loading...